Chicken Pot Pie with Flakey Butter Crust

This is simply the best pot pie I have ever tried in my life. Additionally, I tweaked the way I normally make pie crust and honestly, I have never tried a better crust. I can’t wait to try it with a dessert pie soon! First, you are probably familiar with a basic pie crust recipe that calls for chilled butter and ice water. When they say chilled, they mean chilled and when they say ice, they mean ice. It is the difference between a flaky or doughy crust. What I did was freeze the butter and then grate it with a cheese grater. I also chilled the water until ice crystals formed. I do believe that made the incredible difference I speak of!

Alright, here is the fabulous pot pie recipe, from scratch (with the exception of chicken broth, I did use store bought.)

For the Crust: (You make this twice, once for the top layer and a second time for the bottom.)

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, frozen and grated
  • 1/4 cup ice water

For the pie filling:

  • 1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1 cup frozen peas (I didn’t have any peas so I used corn and it worked well)
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1 large potato or 2 small, diced (peeled if desired)
  • poultry seasoning to taste
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/2 of an onion, chopped
  • 4 cups chicken broth (divided)
  • 1/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/4 tsp celery seed
  • 1 cup milk

For the crust:

In a large bowl, combine flour and salt. Grate butter.

Cut butter into flour mixture until it resembles course crumbs.

Mix in water, 1 tablespoon at a time until mixture forms a ball. Careful not to over work it. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least 4 hours, or overnight.

On a floured surface, roll dough to fit 9″ pie pan. Tip: with each roll of the rolling pin rotate crust. Flatten it while keeping an almost perfect circular shape at all times. When its time to transplant dough to pan, very gently roll the dough up (like a poster or map) and then unroll on pie pan. And don’t forget to repeat this recipe or you will only have half the crust!

Before filling the pie, bake the bottom crust in pie pan at 425 degrees for 6 minutes.

For the pie filling:

Preheat oven to 425. In a pot, combine chicken, carrots, peas, celery, potatoes, and poultry seasoning. Add broth to cover mixture, about 2 cups.

Boil for 15 minutes, remove from heat, drain and discard liquid. Set aside.

In a saucepan, heat butter over medium heat and cook onions until tender and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper, celery seed, and garlic salt. Slowly stir in remaining 2 cups of broth and milk. Simmer on medium-low heat until mixture thickens.

Combine sauce and chicken/veggie mixture. Toss to coat.

Pour into prepared pie pan. Don’t forget to bake the bottom crust for 6 minutes before adding filling! Cover with top crust, seal edges, and cut slits for steam to escape.

Bake at 425 for 35-40 minutes. Cool 10 minutes before serving.

6 responses

  1. I’m not really much of a cook, and as a working mom, our weeknight meals tend to be very basic. So I prepared this chicken pot pie as a weekend treat. It was so worth the extra bit of work that went into preparing it! This might be the best homemade dinner I have ever made! The trick of freezing and grating the butter for the crust was absolute genius. I am not a baker, and this crust, using this method, turns out flakey and delicious. This is comfort food I’d make for company! Rave!

  2. I made this last evening for my hubby. It was the first night of below freezing temps, so perfect night for chick. pot pie. I made everything from scratch, including cooking a whole chicken in a pot. Very time consuming. I had trouble rolling out the dough. I let it set out for about 15 mins. then it was fine. I am glad I went through all that trouble, well worth it. It was fab… Thanks for the recipe. My hubby even took a pic of his plate to send to daughter to show off his supper. I am proud…

  3. This is the most delicious pot pie I have ever made or tasted. My whole family loved it. It did not take too long to put together and the end product was worth the time that was put in. I love making scratch made dinners for my family and this was definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe,Yummy!

Leave a Reply

