Brownies From Scratch, using Cocoa Powder

Brownies. Oh Brownies. Anyone who knows me, knows my affinity for sweets and more specifically, chocolate. And at the very top of my favorite things of all time is the corner piece of a brownie, the fudge-y kind, not cake-y. I’m famous for a few different great brownie recipes using unsweetened chocolate but found this when a sweet tooth attack hit and the only thing that resembled chocolate in my pantry was a tub of cocoa powder that I normally use for hot chocolate.

I have to say, while slightly less attractive on the top, they tasted just as great. But if you’d like, make the frosting to go on top and then they will be beautiful. It is my opinion that if a brownie is moist and chocolate-y enough, there is no need to put frosting on it. That, and I was out of powdered sugar.

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour (or coat well with cooking spray) an 8 inch square pan. In a large saucepan, melt butter. Remove from heat, and stir in sugar, eggs, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat in cocoa,Β  flour, salt, and baking powder. Spread batter into prepared pan. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

For the optional frosting:

  • 3 tbsp butter, softened
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar

Combine butter, cocoa, honey, vanilla, and confectioners’ sugar. Frost brownies while they are still warm.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: 5 foods that make me proud of being a St. Louisian « Spoonlighting

  2. thank you finally i found a perfect recipe for brownies and it is durning I STEP week to and my mom is very hungrey and now i know what to feed her but i hope it works keep yorn kitchen clean and you food good!!!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

  3. I tried this recipe twice and my kids can’t get enough of it. Just like you all I had was powdered cocoa ; so I just had to bake a chocolatey recipe from scratch. However today I ran out of white sugar. Can I substitute brown sugar? Thanks

Leave a Reply

