Pizza Craze

According to Bay Area blogger and food critic Michael Bauer, we are in the middle of a pizza craze. Well, I don’t know about you but I’ve been crazy about pizza since I was a little kid. Regardless, pizza seems to be the new fad and that is one bandwagon I’ll be happy to jump on. I have about 15 different dough recipes, I have not tried them all but I plan to and I’ll document and share my results as I go along.

This dough recipe is from my friend Juli, she got it from good ole Betty Crocker and tweeked it to fit her tastes.

  • 1 package of yeast
  • 1 cup warm water (105-115 deg)
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp olive or vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • olive or vegetable oil
  • cornmeal

Dissolve yeast in warm water in medium bowl.  Stir in flour, 2 tbsp oil, and salt. Beat vigorously 20 strokes. Cover and let rest for 20 mins.

Heat oven to 375 deg.  Grease a full-size baking sheet with oil and sprinkle some cornmeal on it.  Pat dough into the baking sheet, covering the whole sheet.  Cover (with a dish towel) and let rise in warm place 30-45 mins or until almost double.

Put whatever you want on the pizza.  Bake 22-25 mins or until crust just begins to brown.

One response

  1. Hi Kate! What a wonderful array of recipes. I truly have enjoyed all of them. I miss your darling, little girls. Love, Aunt Judy

Leave a Reply

