Tuesday Tip

Shop bargains! I buy all my meat in bulk and then portion it into 1 nights worth of dinner. Zip it up tight in a freezer grade ziplock and pull it out the night before and put it in the fridge to defrost. Never put meat in the freezer in the styrofoam tray and plastic wrap that you buy it in, it’ll get freezer burnt and be completely horrible. I mark with a sharpie the date I bought it and what it is so I know exactly what bag to pull out. Also be careful not to overstock your freezer, even the freezer burn proof bags break down and the meat is ruined over time. (But vacuum packed meat will last a lot longer.) I keep about 1 and 1/2 weeks worth of meat in my freezer at any given time. A great way to save money on groceries is to only buy the meat on the weekly special.

Leave a Reply

