Indian Chicken Curry (YUM!)

I am not Indian, I have never cooked Indian nor have I ever been to India. As far as the authenticity of this dish, I can only compare it to the half dozen or so times I have gone to or ordered out from an Indian restaurant and the reviews it got on allrecipes.com, which is where I found it. I’d say it holds up pretty well! My husband and I were very pleased at how well it turned out! It was quite delicious, pretty simple and the house still smells incredible. I served it over rice and with homemade naan.

  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 Tbsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh grated ginger root
  • 1/2 tsp. white sugar
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breast halves, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 Tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

Heat olive oil over medium heat and cook onion until slightly browned. Add garlic, curry cinnamon, paprika, bay leaf, ginger, sugar and salt, stir for 2 minutes. Add chicken, tomato paste, yogurt, and coconut milk. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 20-25 minutes.

Remove bay leaf, stir in lemon juice and cayenne pepper. Simmer for 5 more minutes.

Serve over rice or with naan.

One response

  1. Pingback: Naan « Kate's California Kitchen

Leave a Reply

